Sadiq Sanjrani is the new Senate chairman, again!

ISLAMABAD: (HRNW) The Senate chairmanship candidate for Sadiq Sanjrani has won the top seat in the upper house of the parliament supported by the ruling party’s alliance as he contended against opposition alliance’s Yousuf Raza Gilani.

Sanjrani with his renewed chairmanship received 47 senate votes from the house while the front-runner for joint opposition alliance Gilani could claim 44 votes with about 7 votes were rendered wasted.

The voting for the coveted post of Senate chairman has concluded just moments ago following which the vote count began at 5 pm.

According to the presiding officer, 98 senators cast their votes to elect a new Senate chairman. The crucial contest for the top Senate slots commenced after the presiding officer (PO) Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah administered the oath to the newly-elected senators earlier today.


Be the first to comment on "Sadiq Sanjrani is the new Senate chairman, again!"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.